System Status

go! All services are operating normally

About Downeast Rapid Transit

Our Mission

Downeast Rapid Transit is a public art project that aims to build connections and stimulate transformative conversation by imagining universally inclusive, accessible, affordable, safe, reliable, carbon-neutral and beautiful underground rapid transit service for all residents, neighbors, and visitors in coastal Washington County, Maine.

Contacting the DRT

DRT headquarters has moved to the purely virtual domain, and no longer has a physical location. To contact the website owner please write to: info [AT]

Want to be a Station Master?

Note: At the end of 2018 we suspended the addition of new stations. Maybe someday we'll resume expansion. Watch this space!


The DRT's Cartographic Department has been hard at work on an interactive Google Map of the DRT system. This clickable and zoomable map shows the locations of all DRT subway lines and stations — existing and proposed — overlaid on a geographic map of the area. To help plan your travels, you can turn on additional map layers, revealing many of the other trails for which this area is famous: the Maine Ice Age Trail, the Sculpture Trail, the Down East Sunrise Trail, the Maine Birding Trail, and the Downeast Fisheries Trail.

The map is still a work in progress; we ask for your patience as we continue to develop it and work out the bugs.

DRT Staff

Director of `Pataphysical Engineering & Design
Chief Cartographer
Chief Geologist
Chief Geomorphologist
Station Masters
Barrie Latzko (McClellan Park station)
Claude Johnson (Fish Point station)
Danielle Woerner (Fish Point station)
Jacquie Smith (Petit Manan station)
Jeff Beckley (Tunk station)
Joy Robinson (Steuben station)
Julie Ginn (Steuben station)
Kelsie (Ellsworth station)
Kipp Latzko (McClellan Park station)
Kristen Nabarette & the Milbridge House restaurant (Milbridge-Bayside station)
Nick Chase (Ellsworth station)
Rainer Weiss (LIGO station)
Richard P. Auletta (Calais station)
Robert D. Bryson (Dyer Point station)
Will Halpin (Ray's Point station)
Water Line ferry captains
Fritz Buehner (S/V Osprey)
Joanne & Will Halpin (M/V Aweigh)
Craig P. Snapp (M/V Eider D)
John Garver (R/V Red Zodiac)